Wellness retreats for anxiety and burnout: how to choose safely, and when not to go
What a few days away can and cannot do for anxiety and burnout, who the retreats themselves say should talk to a clinician first, and what five US programs publish about their staff, screening and prices.
Sources checked : 30 statements on this page, each matched to its source's own words (published studies, official websites, NIH, WHO and others). How we check
Short answer: A retreat can lower stress while you are there, but it does not treat an anxiety disorder or replace therapy or medical care, and in studies of workers on vacation, burnout was back within three to four weeks of returning to work. If worry, panic or low mood is getting in the way of daily life, start with a doctor or a licensed mental health professional. If you are thinking about suicide or self-harm, call or text 988; if a life is in danger, call 911. If you still want a retreat, choose one that names who leads it and their license, asks about your mental health before you book, and says who it is not for.
Prices, programs and policies below come from each program’s or center’s own pages, read on October 28, 2026. No retreat or program can pay to appear in this guide, and it has no booking or affiliate links.
When a retreat is the wrong tool for anxiety or burnout
Check this first.
- Thoughts of suicide or self-harm. Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. The 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline is free, confidential and open 24 hours a day, and you do not have to be suicidal to call. If a life is in danger, call 911 or go to the nearest emergency room (NIMH).
- Anxiety that will not go away. NIMH says that if you are struggling to cope, or stress or anxiety symptoms will not go away, “it may be time to talk to a professional,” and that psychotherapy and medication are “the two main treatments for anxiety” (NIMH). A retreat is neither.
- Panic, depression or trauma symptoms that feel overwhelming. The retreat centers say the same. Dhamma.org, which runs free Vipassana courses, says that if depression, anxiety, panic or PTSD is overwhelming, “the best thing may be to work with a health professional.”
- Burnout that may be depression. Mayo Clinic says burnout can raise the risk of depression, and that “depression and burnout are different, and they need different treatments.”
Where to start: a primary care provider can do an initial mental health screening and refer you to a mental health professional (NIMH). If your job has an employee assistance program (EAP), NIMH describes it as free and confidential.
What burnout and anxiety are
Burnout is a work problem in the World Health Organization’s terms. ICD-11 lists it as an occupational phenomenon, and WHO says “It is not classified as a medical condition.” WHO defines it as “a syndrome conceptualized as resulting from chronic workplace stress that has not been successfully managed,” marked by exhaustion, mental distance or cynicism about your job, and reduced professional efficacy, and says the term applies only to work (WHO). The cause sits at work, which is why a retreat on its own leaves it in place.
Anxiety is a normal reaction to stress. An anxiety disorder is different: NIMH says that for people with these disorders, “anxiety does not go away, is felt in many situations, and can get worse over time” (NIMH). NIMH suggests watching for stress symptoms that get in the way of everyday life, make you avoid things, or seem always present.
What a retreat can do for burnout, and how long it lasts
Time away helps while it lasts. In a study of 76 clerks, burnout fell during a vacation, was partly back three days after they returned to work and fully back after three weeks (Westman and Eden, Journal of Applied Psychology, 1997). A study of 87 industrial workers found burnout back at its prevacation level four weeks later (Westman and Etzion, Psychology and Health, 2001), and a review of seven vacation studies found small benefits that “soon fade out after work resumption” (de Bloom and colleagues, Journal of Occupational Health, 2009).
Retreat studies are small. After a week at one Australian health retreat, 37 guests improved on almost every measure, and the gains held at six weeks in the 17 who were followed up. There was no comparison group, and the retreat funded the study (Cohen and colleagues, Journal of Alternative and Complementary Medicine, 2017). In a six-day resort trial with healthy women, those who simply relaxed improved as much at first as those on a meditation retreat, but the women new to meditation kept lower distress for longer (Epel and colleagues, Translational Psychiatry, 2016).
What makes it last is mostly what happens afterward. In a review of 25 burnout programs, those aimed only at the person reduced burnout for six months or less, while programs that also changed something at work lasted 12 months or more, and refresher courses helped (Awa and colleagues, Patient Education and Counseling, 2010). Among physicians, programs run by the organization had larger effects than programs aimed at individual doctors (Panagioti and colleagues, JAMA Internal Medicine, 2017). Mayo Clinic’s advice on job burnout includes talking to your boss about what could change. Before you go, pick one practice you will keep at home and one thing to raise at work.
Meditation, breathwork and time outdoors: what helps stress and anxiety
- Meditation programs improved anxiety moderately in a review of 47 trials, with weaker evidence for stress (Goyal and colleagues, JAMA Internal Medicine, 2014). In adults with diagnosed anxiety disorders, an eight-week weekly mindfulness course (MBSR) did as well as the antidepressant escitalopram (Hoge and colleagues, JAMA Psychiatry, 2023). That was a weekly course inside a clinical trial, not a retreat.
- Breathing practices were linked with lower stress, anxiety and depression scores than control conditions in a review of randomized trials; the authors called the effect on stress small to medium and urged caution about hype (Fincham and colleagues, Scientific Reports, 2023). Fast, intense styles carry their own risks: see is breathwork safe?
- Time outdoors. In a survey of 19,806 people, those who spent at least 120 minutes a week in nature were more likely to report good health and well-being (White and colleagues, Scientific Reports, 2019), and a 90-minute walk in a natural setting reduced rumination in healthy volunteers (Bratman and colleagues, PNAS, 2015). Both can continue at home.
Meditation can also make anxiety worse. A review of 83 studies found anxiety was the most commonly reported adverse event (Farias and colleagues, Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica, 2020). In a US survey of 434 people who had meditated, anxiety was among the most common unwanted effects, 10.4% had one that lasted a month or more, and childhood adversity raised the risk (Goldberg and colleagues, Psychotherapy Research, 2022). If you are anxious, start with short, gentle sessions you can step out of, and read a center’s health guidance before you book a silent or intensive retreat.
What the retreats themselves say about who should not attend
On the pages we read, these centers say plainly who should wait or talk to a clinician first:
- Insight Meditation Society (IMS): “If you have recently experienced considerable trauma, significant depression or anxiety, or are currently experiencing strong PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder), a silent retreat may not be appropriate for you at this time in your life.” IMS asks people who see a therapist to tell them, and to follow their advice if they have concerns, and says it is “unable and unqualified to provide medical and psychological care.”
- Spirit Rock: “Practitioners should be in a stable period of mental well-being and have adequate self-regulatory resources to attend an intensive silent retreat.” If you are in doubt, it says, “consult a therapist or mental health professional.” Its pre-retreat questionnaire asks for your mental health professional’s contact information.
- Dhamma.org (Goenka Vipassana courses): “Vipassana meditation is not a substitute for medical or psychiatric treatment, and we do not recommend it for people with significant mental health issues.”
- Hoffman Institute: “Some mental health conditions, including severe or treatment-resistant depression and certain anxiety-related disorders, require review prior to attending the Hoffman Process.” An enrollment counselor speaks with anyone who has suffered severe trauma, and people in therapy are asked to consult their doctor or therapist first.
- Onsite: Onsite says it does not offer crisis intervention or drug or alcohol detox, and that licensed clinical professionals review each intake.
If a program asks no health questions at all before a multi-day intensive, take that as information.
Medication: keep taking it on a retreat
Never stop prescribed medication for a retreat, and do not change the dose without your prescriber. NIMH: “People should not stop taking a prescribed medication, even if they are feeling better, without the help of a health care provider” (NIMH). The NHS says of antidepressants: “Do not stop taking an antidepressant suddenly or without talking to your doctor first” (NHS). IMS goes further and treats stopping prescribed medication during a retreat as grounds to be asked to leave. Bring enough for the whole stay. Our guides to wellness on antidepressants and wellness with bipolar disorder cover heat, sleep and retreats in more detail.
Who leads anxiety and burnout retreats: licensed clinicians, coaches and “trauma-informed”
- Licensed mental health professionals include psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, counselors and psychiatric nurses (NIMH). Psychologists, for example, must hold a license where they practice: the American Psychological Association says “Psychologists must be licensed by the state or jurisdiction in which they practice” (APA). If a retreat offers therapy, ask who provides it, what license they hold and in which state.
- Coaches are told by their own professional body to know their limits: the International Coaching Federation’s guide helps coaches recognize when a client’s needs are outside a coach’s competencies, and says coaches should work with mental health professionals when appropriate (ICF).
- “Trauma-informed” is not a license. SAMHSA uses the term for a program, organization or system that recognizes the signs of trauma and works to “actively resist retraumatization” (SAMHSA). Ask what training the staff have and who is licensed.
- Retreat teachers are not therapists. Spirit Rock says its teachers “are not in the role of therapists or psychological professionals (even if they hold that training professionally),” and Dhamma.org says its teachers and volunteers “are not medical, psychological, or counselling practitioners.”
Five US programs for stress, burnout or rest: what they publish
Read on each program’s own pages on October 28, 2026. This is not a ranking or a recommendation, and prices change.
| Program | Who leads it | Screening before you book | Length and group | Published price | Cancellation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Onsite, Living Centered, Cumberland Furnace, Tenn., or California | Described as therapist-guided group therapy; license types not listed on the program page | Admissions call; intake reviewed by licensed clinical professionals; no crisis care or detox | 6 days; 6 to 10 people per group; about six hours of group therapy a day | $6,900, which Onsite says covers the program, accommodations and meals; room type not stated | Not published on the pages we read |
| Hoffman Process, California and Connecticut | Hoffman-certified teachers, not described as licensed clinicians | Review for severe trauma and some anxiety-related disorders; people in therapy asked to consult their clinician | 7 days, 6 nights; up to 40 students, one teacher per 6 to 9 | $6,950 standard tuition, including a single room (shared bathrooms), all meals and over 90 hours of instruction | $700 deposit, non-refundable; balance due 15 days before |
| Kripalu, Yoga for Stress and Burnout, Stockbridge, Mass. | Two leaders: a physician who is a C-IAYT yoga therapist, and a Harvard Medical School research faculty member | None stated | April 28 to 30, 2027 (2 nights); yoga from 6:30 am, sessions morning and afternoon | $349 tuition per person plus a room each night: dorm bed $109 a weeknight ($129 a weekend night), private room with hall bath $209 to $299 by bed, guests, view and day; three meals a day included; 3% fee added | Full refund less $50 up to 15 days before; then account credit; nothing on arrival day |
| Kripalu, Retreat and Renewal, Stockbridge, Mass. | “Expert-led” classes; credentials not stated | None stated | 1 night minimum on weeknights; every activity optional | From $99 a night plus a room (dorm bed from $109 a weeknight); meals and classes included | Same as above |
| Canyon Ranch, Mindful Journey, Lenox, Mass. | A team “from licensed therapists to spiritual wellness mentors” | None stated; guests 14 and older | 2 to 4 nights; 5 individual services on a 3 night stay | 3 nights from $1,350 per person per night alone, $1,215 per person per night sharing, taxes extra; meals, services and transfers included | Two-night deposit, refundable up to 21 days before arrival |
Only Onsite says licensed clinicians review your intake, and only Hoffman publishes which conditions need review before you attend. Kripalu’s programs ask no health questions on the pages we read.
How to choose a retreat for anxiety or burnout
- Decide what you need: rest, a skill such as meditation, or emotional work. Emotional work belongs with licensed clinicians who review your intake first.
- Read the daily schedule. Kripalu’s burnout program starts each day with a 6:30 am yoga class and runs teaching sessions morning and afternoon; its R&R stay makes every activity optional. If you are exhausted, choose the optional one.
- Ask who leads the sessions and what license they hold, how many people are in a group, and what happens if you need to leave a session or go home early.
- Answer the health questions honestly, tell your therapist or doctor, and bring all your medication.
- Check how far the nearest hospital is. IMS, for example, says its center is about 45 minutes from the nearest hospital, and that staff will call 911 if a guest has an acute medical or psychological emergency.
- Read the cancellation terms before you pay. Burnout makes plans fragile, and the terms above range from a full refund 15 days out to a non-refundable deposit.
- Plan the return: one practice you will keep, and one change to raise at work.
Red flags in anxiety and burnout retreats
Be wary of retreats that promise to cure anxiety or depression, that are vague about who leads the work and their training, that pressure you to push through every activity, or that lean on dramatic claims for a single treatment. Walk away from a program that tells you to stop or change prescribed medication, asks no health questions before an intensive, or discourages you from telling your therapist. Calm honesty is a good sign; bold promises are not.
FAQ: retreats for anxiety and burnout
Can a retreat cure anxiety? No. NIMH names psychotherapy and medication as the two main treatments for anxiety. The centers say they are not treatment either: Dhamma.org says Vipassana “is not a cure for illness,” and the Hoffman Institute says its program “is not intended as a substitute for psychotherapy.”
How long do the benefits of a burnout retreat last? In two studies of workers on vacation, burnout was back to its earlier level three to four weeks after they returned to work. Programs that also change something at work, and refresher sessions, last longer.
Should I tell my therapist before a retreat for anxiety? Yes. IMS, Spirit Rock and the Hoffman Institute all ask people in therapy or psychiatric care to talk to their clinician before attending.
Can I stop my medication during a retreat? No. NIMH says not to stop a prescribed medication without a health care provider’s help, and IMS treats stopping prescribed medication as grounds to be asked to leave.
What credentials should staff at an anxiety retreat have? For anything called therapy, a licensed mental health professional, such as a psychiatrist, psychologist, social worker, counselor or psychiatric nurse; ask what license they hold and in which state. A coach, yoga teacher or meditation teacher is not acting as a therapist in that role: the ICF tells coaches to work with mental health professionals when a client’s needs are outside their competencies, and Spirit Rock and Dhamma.org say their teachers are not therapists.
Who should not go on a silent retreat for anxiety? IMS says a silent retreat may not be appropriate after recent considerable trauma, with significant depression or anxiety, or with strong PTSD. Spirit Rock asks for a stable period of mental well-being, and Dhamma.org does not recommend its courses for people with significant mental health issues.
The bottom line on retreats for anxiety and burnout
A retreat is a pause, not a treatment. It can lower stress for as long as you are away; what lasts is what you change afterward, at home and at work. If anxiety, panic or low mood is running your days, see a doctor or a licensed therapist first, and call or text 988 in a crisis. If you go, choose a program that tells you who leads it, asks about your health, and says who should wait.
Related reading on anxiety and burnout retreats
- Wellness retreat vs therapy: which do you actually need?
- Silent meditation retreats in the US: Vipassana, Zen and insight centers compared
- Wellness on antidepressants: saunas, sweating, retreats and what is actually safe
- Is breathwork safe? The risks, and who should be careful
- How to choose a wellness retreat: a buyer’s checklist for first-timers
Want Google to show you more from Tendground? Add us as a preferred source.