Which gyms have a sauna? Life Time, Crunch, Equinox, EōS, the YMCA and Planet Fitness checked
We read the chains' own pages. Life Time lists a sauna at 183 of 209 clubs and a cold plunge at 82; 346 of 630 Crunch location pages list a sauna; Equinox and EōS include them; Ys vary branch by branch; Planet Fitness has none.
Short answer: Of the big chains, Life Time is the surest bet: 183 of its 209 club amenity pages list a sauna (88%), and 82 list a cold plunge. Crunch says many of its locations offer a sauna, and 346 of the 630 Crunch location pages we read list one. Equinox’s member rules cover its saunas, steam rooms, cold plunges and hot tubs, EōS includes a sauna in its Will Crush membership, the YMCA varies branch by branch, and Planet Fitness lists no sauna at all.
“Does my gym have a sauna?” depends less on the chain than on the club, and most chains say so. So we read the chains’ own pages on October 5, 2026: every Life Time club amenities page, every Crunch location page in Crunch’s sitemap, and the membership, policy and FAQ pages of Equinox, EōS, the YMCA and Planet Fitness.
We could not check LA Fitness, whose website did not respond to us, so it is not included. Amenities change, so confirm on your club’s own page before you join for the sauna.
Life Time
Life Time publishes an amenities page for each club, and the sauna is usually on it. Of the 209 club pages that loaded on October 5, 2026:
- 183 list a sauna (88%), often a cedarwood sauna in the main spa area, a locker room sauna, or both.
- 180 list a steam room and 181 a whirlpool.
- 82 list a cold plunge (39%), and 74 list both a sauna and a cold plunge.
- 3 name an infrared sauna.
The clubs without a sauna on their page include tennis and pickleball clubs, a studio and several Manhattan locations, but also some full clubs, so check yours. Life Time is also the chain with a family angle: its FAQ describes a Kids Academy for children 11 and under, but a sauna is still an adult space, and our guide to saunas and hot tubs with kids covers the age questions.
Crunch Fitness
Crunch’s FAQ is direct about the variation: “Each Crunch Fitness location offers its own unique set of amenities, from saunas to tanning and so much more!” Asked whether Crunch has a steam room, it answers: “While many of our locations offer sauna, not all of them include steam rooms.”
Of the 630 Crunch location pages we read:
- 346 list a sauna (55%).
- 12 mention a steam room.
- 599 list HydroMassage, 142 red light therapy and 575 tanning.
- 21 list cryotherapy, and none mention a cold plunge.
Crunch sets the minimum age club by club; its FAQ links each club’s own rule.
Equinox
Equinox’s member policies treat the sauna and steam room as standard: phones, cameras and other devices, used workout clothing, footwear, grooming products and food are not permitted in them, and they “may be closed at certain times of the day for routine maintenance.” The same policies require swimwear and swim caps to use “Club pools, cold plunges, hot tubs and other hydrotherapies,” which tells you some clubs have all of those.
Equinox is strict about age: children 15 and under may not use the clubs outside children’s programs, and teens 16 and older can come as guests with ID, with a parent’s waiver for a 16-year-old.
EōS Fitness
EōS lists an indoor pool and a sauna among what its Will Crush membership includes, along with access to its 225+ gym locations. Members must be 13 or older, with a guardian’s signature under 18.
The YMCA
There are 2,597 Ys across the US, according to the YMCA, and each sets its own facilities. The YMCA of Greater Seattle lists saunas, steam rooms and hot tubs among its amenities, with the note that amenities vary by branch. In Denver, the YMCA of Metro Denver’s amenities page shows a sauna at only one of its six branches, University Hills Schlessman. Check your own branch’s page.
Planet Fitness
None. Planet Fitness lists no sauna, steam room or pool; its Black Card Spa has massage chairs, HydroMassage, tanning, red light and recovery chairs instead. Our guide to whether Planet Fitness has a sauna goes through each machine.
Gyms with saunas at a glance
| Chain | Sauna | Steam room | Cold plunge | Hot tub or whirlpool |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Life Time | 183 of 209 clubs | 180 of 209 | 82 of 209 | 181 of 209 |
| Crunch | 346 of 630 locations | Not at all locations, per Crunch | None of 630 | Not stated |
| Equinox | Yes, per member policies | Yes | At some clubs | At some clubs |
| EōS Fitness | In the Will Crush membership | Not stated | Not stated | Indoor pool listed |
| YMCA | Varies by branch | Varies by branch | Not stated | Varies by branch |
| Planet Fitness | No | No | No | No |
Gym sauna or sauna studio?
A gym sauna comes with the membership, but it is shared, its temperature is the club’s choice, and it may close for cleaning. A sauna studio charges per visit: in our price index of venues in 22 US cities, a sauna session without a plunge costs a median $40 and one with a cold plunge a median $49. Our guide to Perspire Sauna Studio prices shows what one infrared chain charges at each of its studios.
Gym sauna etiquette
Equinox’s rules are a fair summary of what most gyms expect: no phones or cameras, no used workout clothes or street shoes, no grooming products and no food in the sauna. Our printable sauna and hot tub safety signs cover the health side, and our guide to your first sauna session covers the rest.
FAQ: gyms with saunas
Which gyms have saunas? Life Time lists a sauna at 183 of its 209 clubs, 346 of 630 Crunch location pages list one, Equinox’s policies cover its saunas, EōS includes one in its Will Crush membership, and many Ys have them, branch by branch. Planet Fitness has none.
Does Life Time have a cold plunge? At 82 of the 209 clubs whose amenity pages we read on October 5, 2026, about 39%. Check your club’s amenities page.
Does Crunch Fitness have a sauna? Many locations do: 346 of the 630 Crunch location pages we read list one. Crunch says not all of its saunas come with a steam room.
Does Equinox have a cold plunge? Some clubs do. Equinox’s member policies require swimwear and swim caps to use “Club pools, cold plunges, hot tubs and other hydrotherapies.”
Does the YMCA have a sauna? It depends on the branch. The YMCA of Greater Seattle lists saunas among its amenities, while in Denver only one of six branches lists one.
Does Planet Fitness have a sauna? No. Planet Fitness lists no sauna, steam room or pool.
The bottom line on gyms with saunas
If a sauna is the reason you are choosing a gym, Life Time is the most reliable of the big chains, and many Crunch locations have one. Equinox and EōS include them, the YMCA depends on the branch, and Planet Fitness does not have one.
Whatever the chain, check your own club’s page before you sign up, and if you only want the sauna, compare the membership with paying per visit at a studio.